Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At St Andrews Sathorn, our Early Years is made up of Nursery, Kindergarten and Reception (for children aged 2-5 years old).

In the Early Years, children learn through play, exploration and discovery in a safe and stimulating environment. Our highly qualified expert Early Years teachers and support team work together to ensure your child has a rewarding and enriching learning experience which develops a life-long love for learning.

The Early Years builds the core foundations and provides children with the skills required to learn throughout their time at St Andrews Sathorn and beyond.

Our Early Years learning areas provide a stimulating environment where young children can explore, enquire and create. Specialist teaching in music, physical education, swimming and Thai enhance the broad Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum on offer.

Please sign-up by filling in the form below, and our Admissions Manager will be in touch with you shortly to schedule a personalised school tour.

"*" indicates required fields

MM slash DD slash YYYY
Privacy Policy*
We would like to keep you up to date with direct and digital marketing such as upcoming events and news from our school and its affiliates such as Camp Asia. Such communications will be in accordance with our School Data Privacy Policy.

Please indicate below whether you consent for us to use your information for this purpose.

Playing and Exploring

The St Andrews Sathorn Early Years programme is based on the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum of England.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the programme, divided into three Prime areas and four Specific areas. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. These areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The three Prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The four Specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design
Active Learning

Teachers also focus on three characteristics of effective learning (CoEL) and reflect these in their practice. The Characteristics of Effective Learning describe behaviours children use in order to learn.

The three CoEL are:

  • Playing and exploring: pupils investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’.
  • Active learning: pupils concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy their achievements.
  • Creating and thinking critically: pupils develop and make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.