At St. Andrews International School Sathorn, our focus is on the whole child and this begins as soon as they start nursery at age 2 until Reception at age 5. We have a strong community feel within a nurturing and inclusive environment. At St. Andrews we are very accepting of new students and encourage communication between parents and staff with our open door policy.

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) standards which supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. The learning environment is happy, active, exciting, fun and secure.

Our experienced Early Years teachers are continually assessing the children’s progress through observation and conversation. Dialogue with parents is an essential part of this assessment process. Teachers build up a portfolio of children’s progress through photographs and recorded observations. These form the basis for discussions with parents, who are also invited to contribute to these portfolios.

Our teaching in Early Years reflects the principles that:

  • Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Children are encouraged to develop positive relationships (partnership with parents is crucial to this development).
  • The learning environment plays a key role in the children’s development.
  • All children learn in different ways and at different rates.
  • All areas of learning are equally important and inter-connected.

Teaching and learning for the children in our Early Years has a high emphasis on structured, creative play and interactive learning. The curriculum is themed to enable the areas of learning to be inter-related.

Teachers are flexible to the needs of the children; in Nursery this means making individual links to their home environment.

The children work towards achieving the Early Learning Goals in three prime areas of learning, incorporating four specific areas.

The 3 prime areas of learning are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The 4 specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Art and Design